Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License Attorney in Clermont, Florida
When you’re convicted of a criminal charge or have violated a law in some way, you know you’ll have to face some sort of penalty. This could include jail time, a fine, or in some cases, you may have your driver's license suspended or revoked. When this happens, you’re likely to face even more penalties.
Fortunately, getting a suspended license reinstated is possible, but the process must be followed exactly and you must meet certain criteria before applying. If you’d like to speak with a criminal defense attorney about pursuing a driver's license reinstatement, contact our team at Archer Law. We’re able to help those in the Clermont, Florida area including Polk County, Lake County, Sumter County and Seminole County.
Reasons a License May Be Suspended or Revoked
There are several reasons your license may have been revoked or suspended. This penalty is typically reserved for lower-level crimes relating to a traffic violation or misdemeanor. But no matter what, it still needs to be taken seriously because there are penalties for driving with a suspended license—sometimes referred to as an “operating after suspension” (OAS) charge. The following covers some common reasons to revoke or suspend someone’s license:
DUI - In Florida, this can happen with your very first DUI and can result in losing your license for 180 days or up to a year.
Accumulating too many points - Another way many people end up with a suspended license is by accumulating too many points on their license. When you rack up 12 points within 12 months, your license will be suspended for 30 days. In general, the more points you accumulate in a short amount of time the longer the suspension will be.
Driving without insurance - If you’re caught operating a vehicle without insurance in Florida, your license can be suspended for up to three years.
Failing to pay child support - In some cases, if you fall 15 days behind on paying child support or if you fail to show up for a subpoena regarding child support your license can be suspended.
Penalty for Driving With a Suspended or Revoked License
In addition to whatever penalty you received for the initial violation, you’ll receive an additional penalty if you’re caught driving with a suspended license.
For first-time offenders, you’ll be facing a second-degree misdemeanor charge which has the potential to land you in jail for 60 days or a $500 fine. If you’re caught multiple times driving on a suspended license, the jail time and fines increase significantly. In some cases, the license suspension can even turn into a license revocation.
Additionally, there are a few key differences in the types of license suspension you may face:
Automatic Suspension - There are some charges that if you’re found guilty result in an automatic license suspension and this is common with DUIs and point accumulation.
Criminal Suspension - If you’re convicted of certain misdemeanor or felony crimes, you may have your license suspended.
Discretionary Suspension - There are also cases where it will be up to the discretion of a judge or administrative body whether or not to suspend your license.
How to Get a Florida Hardship License
Because you may need to work each day, it’s only natural to ask, “Can I get a hardship license if my license has been suspended?” A hardship license is a type of restricted license that you may be able to apply for certain driving privileges. Typically, this would only allow you to drive to and from work or school, or to attend medical appointments.
To apply for a hardship hearing, you must meet the following criteria:
Enroll in the Driving Under the Influence School (for those with a DUI) or the Advanced Driver Improvement (ADI) Course.
Submit your 30-day driving record along with your application.
Pay any related fees.
This option is usually only available to first-time offenders, but there are exceptions. So it's always helpful to speak with a DUI attorney or license restoration attorney to discuss the specifics of your case.
Getting Your License Reinstated
If you’re interested in getting your license reinstated (not just obtaining a hardship license), this will depend partly on the reason your license was suspended in the first place. For instance, it may be conditional on the completion of a jail sentence, drug and alcohol course, or community service.
Typically, this can only be done after your suspension period has ended and you’ve enrolled in the ADI course. You’ll then need to pay any late fines as well as a reinstatement fee to get full driving privileges back.
Suspended/Revoked License Attorney in Clermont, Florida
If you’re in Clermont, Florida—or the surrounding areas of Polk County, Lake County, Sumter County, or Seminole County—and have recently had your license suspended and want to learn how to get it reinstated, we’re here to help. Call us at Archer Law today to schedule an appointment and start exploring your options.